top of page

6 WRITERS. 6 POSTS. 1 BLOG.

Break Routine: Ways to Stay Fit in San Francisco


All I wanted was to grab a cup of coffee and it was one of the most tiring things I had ever done in my life. I felt like I had run on a treadmill for at least 15 minutes. Now I know what you're thinking, she's probably just really out of shape, and you know what that may be partially true, but I honestly love working out and when I hit the gym I don't play. This is why grabbing coffee that day gave me an epiphany.

On campus at the Academy of Art University I wouldn't say we have the best workout facilities. Where I lived in the Midwest I was spoiled to the abundance of equipment that I had at my disposal at gyms like Planet Fitness. Here, I can't find an Arc machine to save my life and if you don't know what that is I seriously suggest you check it out, it will change the way you workout forever. Back to my epiphany, after catching my breath from an only 5 block walk I realized why I was so tired. I had been walking up steep inclined hills the entire way there disguised as sidewalks.

Walking back from the coffee shop was a straight shot down and to be honest, that required control as well. I saw other passers by struggling to make it to their destination at the top of the dreadful concrete hill and felt like less of an outcast. My step pedometer on my phone dinged and informed me of my heart rate and the steps I had clocked in the past 15 minutes. This was a workout.

While walking back in my home state of Illinois it was completely flat. You would have to run to really get your heart rate pumping. Here, you can take gradual steps and still get an awesome workout. Not liking the gyms out in San Francisco so much, I have created a list of 3 alternative ways to workout in San Francisco that don't require you to go to a stuffy crowded gym.

1) Tackle the Steep Sidewalks

Take a note from my experience of grabbing coffee and walk up some of the steepest streets in your local neighborhood or beyond. Don't let it fool you, a sweat will definitely be worked up. Make sure to dress appropriately in your usual workout gear. Workout leggings or sweats are a must and ladies I definitely recommend a sports bra. Doing this for about 30 minutes of your day will definitely cause you to see a significant change in your body's performance and reaction to tackling those sidewalks on the way to work.

2) Natural Habitat of the Beach

If you've been to the beach before you know how hard it can be to walk in the sand and in the water. Resistance training!

Running or walking on the beach causes you to use more of effort. If you're not afraid of getting a little wet, walk against the current of the ocean. This can also let you cool down some while working out. Be careful though, if the current is too powerful it can definitely knock you off your feet.

3) An Abundance of Hiking Trails

There are tons of hiking trails in the San Francisco area. With all of the hills and mountains in San Francisco many trails have been created just for your workout pleasure. Make sure to bring plenty of water for this journey and maybe even some healthy snacks. Hiking is not for the faint of heart.

These three workout alternatives should get you moving! Who needs a sweaty judgmental gym when you have all of this beautiful natural land surrounding you. A bonus to these workout alternatives is that it gives you the opportunity to explore San Francisco. Even if you are a local you may find hidden gems that you never knew existed. So grab some friends, your significant other, or even just yourself and get moving!

Photo Credit:


FOLLOW 6 + done.
FEATURED POSTS
CATEGORIES
RECENT POSTS
INSTAGRAM
TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page